NAJA announces 2021 Facebook Journalism Project Scholarship recipients

NAJA awards $50,000 in total scholarships to five Indigenous journalism students

OKLAHOMA CITY — The Native American Journalists Association partnered with the Facebook Journalism Project to establish the NAJA Facebook Journalism Project Scholarship in 2018 to support quality journalism that strengthens and connects communities. For the 2021-2022 school year, NAJA will award five scholarships of $10,000 each to Indigenous students pursuing careers in media.

Introducing the 2021 NAJA-FJP Scholarship Recipients!

McKenzie Allen-Charmley
(Dena’ina Athabaskan of the Tribal Village of Eklutna)
Arizona State University
Amber Labahe
Fort Lewis College
Sarah Liese
Ohio University
Lindsay McCoy
(Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians)
Michigan State University
Jarrette Werk
The University of Nevada-Reno

The 2021 NAJA-Facebook Scholarship recipients were announced via livestream on the NAJA Facebook page co-hosted by NAJA Education Committee Chairwoman Lenzy Krehbiel-Burton and NAJA President Francine Compton on Friday, July 16 at 12 p.m. CST. 

NAJA will award a total of $250,000 in scholarships through the Facebook Journalism Project. Students who applied but were not selected in 2021 are encouraged to re-apply in the future.

Scholarships are one way NAJA supports Indigenous journalism at every stage of members’ careers. NAJA student members can also apply for the annual Native American Journalism Fellowship, NBC News Summer Fellowship, NAJA-NYU Journalism Scholarship and other training opportunities throughout the year.

About NAJA
The Native American Journalists Association serves more than 900 members, including media professionals working in tribal, freelance, independent and mainstream news outlets, as well as academia and students covering Indigenous communities and representing tribal nations from across North America.

Leave a Reply