NAJA members elect board; board selects 2021-2022 executive committee

Compton elected to second term as president; Brewer elected as vice president

Members of the Native American Journalists Association voted Sept. 27-Oct. 8 in an online election. Francine Compton (Sandy Bay Ojibway First Nation), Savannah Maher (Mashpee Wampanoag), and Angel Ellis (Muscogee Nation) were elected to the NAJA Board of Directors. 

Election results were reported by the NAJA Election Committee then submitted to the full board for review and certification during the board meeting Oct. 8. 

The board also elected 2021-2022 officers during the special meeting with members-elect in attendance. Francine Compton, Graham Lee Brewer, Tripp J Crouse and Christine Trudeau were all unanimously selected to positions on the executive committee.

  • Francine Compton (Sandy Bay Ojibway First Nation), president
  • Graham Lee Brewer (Cherokee), vice president
  • Christine Trudeau (Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation), treasurer
  • Tripp J Crouse (descendent, Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa), secretary

Jourdan Bennett-Begaye (Diné), Pauly Denetclaw (Diné) and Avis Little Eagle (Standing Rock and Cheyenne River Sioux) will remain seated for the duration of their terms.

Members voted 63-7 in favor of passing the updated membership policy. The adopted policy will be published with NAJA membership materials in the future.   

For more information, visit

About NAJA 
The Native American Journalists Association serves more than 900 members, including media professionals working in tribal, freelance, independent and mainstream news outlets, as well as academia and students covering Indigenous communities and representing tribal nations from across North America.

Leave a Reply